Something New

          This has been a whirlwind of excitement in the last three years of learning what homeschool really meant. We started with Texas Connections Academy when my oldest son was in 8th grade, my youngest son in 6th grade, and my oldest daughter who was in 2nd grade at the time. They all attended Klein ISD, which was not bad, not good. They did Connections in their next grade up and stayed until this school year ending on June 6th. Everything you would like to know about Connections and our three year hiatus is found hear:http://homechoolingvows.blogspot.com/ This was my first blog and our experiences we had with them. I think my kids and I have just outgrown the STARR and TAKS testing. I wanted to have a little more control over their learning and more hands on with them. This coming school year I am bringing in my second grader so this is going to be a challenge for me facing four different grade groups. I can learn from other parents and feedback is so appreciated.

         This 2013-2014 school year is going to be so EXCITING! I finally narrowed down the curriculum of choice: Abeka for my 2nd grader, Switched on School House for my 6th grader, and Lifepacs for my 10th and 12th grader. A lot of parents asked me “Why not keep everyone with the same curriculum”? I though of that as well, but came to the conclusion that all of my kids are different and learn in different ways. They were stuck on the same curriculum with Connections Academy and could not express their own individual learning styles. It frustrated them and I wanted them to feel free at picking what keep them  motivated when learning. This is our new journey and I have so much I want to share and learn from other homeschoolers. Our journey starts now, as I am planning early just so that I can organize what I hope will not be a chaotic year!

Leave a Reply

