Celebrating Black History

In order to build self-esteem and racial pride, Black Americans should homeschool their children (if you can.) A typical curriculum in school vaguely touches the subject of enslaved blacks in history and it ends with the Civil Rights movement. Our homes should be a great example of black pride without the stereotypes. Our kids should not want to be no one other than who God intended them to be. They should not want to transform themselves in order to fit in. The mental images of white America are programmed and thrown into the school system lacking other cultures making it hard to accept anything other than white.

As a mother who have homeschooled both traditional and non-traditional, my decision to continue with homeschooling proved valid when I see how prideful my daughters are. They have flourished in their own identity without diminishing who they are. I can teach them culture without stereotypes. I can teach them to love in spite of worldviews and in your face media. Black History in my home is not just in February; It’s every day! This is my opinion and it’s not intended to offend parents that have their kids in school. This is simply my experience with my kids when they were in school.-Just Celebrating Black History Month from my view!

 

balckbanner

Leave a Reply

